25th Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards Announce Nominees


The award season begins with the 25th Annual IFP Project Gotham Independent Film Awards. It seems like the battle will be given between Carol and The Diary of a Teenage Girl: with three and four nominations respectively, including Best Feature, Best Actress and Best Screenplay, they will keep the suspense high.

Two new categories are introduced this year for Breakthrough Series: long form (serialized television) and short form (web content). Meanwhile, tributes will be given to Helen Mirren, Robert Redford, Todd Haynes and Steve Golin.

Voting begins on November 24th, while the ceremony will be held on November 30th, at Cipriani Wall Street.

Find the complete list of nominees HERE

Best Feature

The Diary of a Teenage Girl
Heaven Knows What

Best Documentary

Approaching the Elephant
Cartel Land
Heart of a Dog
Listen to Me Marlon
The Look of Silence

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Desiree Akhavan for Appropriate Behavior (Gravitas Ventures)
Jonas Carpignano for Mediterranea (Sundance Selects)
Marielle Heller for The Diary of a Teenage Girl (Sony Pictures Classics)
John Magary for The Mend (Cinelicious Pics)
Josh Mond for James White (The Film Arcade)

Source: IFP


Related posts